Where have I been? // Musings

1

I’ve been MIA since so long. It’s not like I’ve forgotten about my blog. In fact, I often think about posting something but I can’t bring myself to write about anything interesting. Actually, scratch that. There are tons of things I’d like to write about, just that I don’t feel they would be interesting to other people. I’ve finally given up now, and so this post is going to be very self-centered. But then aren’t all blogs centered around the writer, to some extent? And I do enjoy reading those.. so here goes nothing.

A LOT has changed since I last posted. I gave my GMAT, and I got a 760 which was surreal. I genuinely don’t know how I managed it! That was early November, and then I got around to my essays for the Indian School of Business (ISB). I gave the interview on 28th Feb and walked out feeling miserable because I thought I hadn’t done well enough to get through. So much so that I caught a kaali-peeli (cab) to High Street Phoenix, Parel (15 minutes away from ITC Grand Central where my interview was) for some retail therapy.

If you didn’t know that Sephora has opened up in Palladium, you do now! I was pleasantly surprised and felt like a little girl in a candy shop, going “oooh shiny” at pretty much everything I laid my eyes on. But it’s all SO DAMN expensive. I tested out this lip stain thing by Stila (a brand that of course I’ve heard of, what with my youtube obsession) that looked nice but when I asked for the price it was 1800 INR. Sigh. The salesgirl would’ve laughed at me under ordinary circumstances but I was suited up (on a Sunday) thanks to my interview, so she was pretty nice to me, haha! Anyway, I decided to stick with a cute Soap ‘n Glory product (The Righteous Butter), since I’m an absolute sucker for things that smell nice, and made my way to the cash counter. By the way, even the aisle of doom at Sephora has stuff in the range of 600-700 INR, unless you want to pick up 30 cotton pads for 300 bucks. WHAT.

Here’s a little anecdote that I’ve told pretty much everyone I know (Kriti – if you’re reading, skip this part, it’s redundant) – At the Sephora billing counter, the lady in front of me was taking absolutely AGES to get her billing done. When the guy at the counter was finally finished, he says – “Ma’am, your bill amount is Rs 22,800“. And I’m standing behind her with a tiny tub of body butter. Oh well. It was amusing.

But d’you know what? There’s a reason this incident made an impression on me. There was a time when I found Zara ridiculously overpriced. A top for 2500 bucks? LOL no thank you. Today I have a pair of shoes from Zara worth 3k. And in fact, a pair of shoes from Aldo worth nearly 4k. No I’m not trying to show you how much money I’ve got (lolwut). I just mean that if I could go from “eww no way” to “oh yeah sounds alright” in those cases, will there be a time in the future when my bill amount at Sephora will be 23000 bucks? I sure hope not. Don’t get me wrong, I adore makeup and stuff. But this is just too much, I feel. Just something I thought of. Moderation is everything isn’t it. Spread out your purchases, woman!

Moving on, I was still upset about my interview (I honestly was, but in hindsight – oh for the love of god Aditi, you stupid drama queen) so I walked into MAC. As you do. I have wanted a MAC lipstick since ages and I finally bought my first one – Taupe! I really love it, it’s a lovely neutral. Oh also, at the MAC billing counter, I ran into Miss 22800 again. O_O

mac-velvet-teddy
MAC Taupe

I’ve been rambling on for quite a bit now, so I think I’ll wrap up this post. My ISB result came in through email on 4th March (a day earlier than expected, so I was completely caught off guard) and I think it was one of those times in my life when I’ve felt pure unadulterated happiness. I don’t know if that was because I genuinely was not expecting to get through. Or if it was because I felt like I finally had some, if not all, of the external validation I needed to help me pull myself up when work gets bad or when people make me feel like I’m worthless.

This post was also supposed to include a shopping spree at Colaba, getting overwhelmed by Forever 21, Valentine’s Day shenanigans and a dinner at JW Mariott. But as I’ve just discovered, boy can I talk (or, in this case, write), so I’ll leave these for next time.

I’m sorry this post has such few pictures. I love taking pictures (as you can probably tell by my uber-artistic shot of the MAC lipstick) but a lot of this happened a while back and I don’t really have any nice shots. I’llΒ  definitely try to make my posts more picture-heavy in future though, I know I like looking at pretty pictures when I’m browsing through blogs.

Please feel free to leave links to your blogs and let me know what you’ve been up to! Any other MAC lipstick recommendations are welcome too πŸ˜›

Until later x

 

 

8 thoughts on “Where have I been? // Musings

  1. Oh wow, 760 is seriously impressive! And congrats for getting into ISB, that’s a lot of competition to beat to make it there! πŸ™‚
    Lol, the billing thing reminds me of when I was in Chanel at Palladium one time. I only bought one lipstick (Liberte) and there were 3 aunties in front of me. Their bill came up to 50-60 k! I was shell shocked! Even worse, they started counting money and paying it in cash! *died*
    I’ll keep Taupe in mind to try out, I have a Back 2 Mac coming up! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you Advaita! πŸ˜€ hahaha that’s crazy xD i absolutely understand splurging, but the way they just take out a wad of bills i feel like it’s probably a regular occurrence which is what i find a bit strange!
      You must try Taupe, I think it’ll look lovely on you πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. I can relate to this so much ! Whenever I shop at Zara (I buy at max 2 things at a time) there’s always someone ahead of me in the counter who rakes up a bill >10K. I honestly can’t imagine spending that much altogether unless its for a marriage or something ! My first MAC lipsticks are Brick-O-La & Mehr…do try them, I love both !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hahahaha i swear! i’ve heard a lot about Mehr, but apparently it’s somewhat similar to Revlon Sultry which i already own, so i skipped Mehr, Twig, Plumful etc. because i wanted something different! i’ll check out Brick-o-la, thanks for the recommendation! πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. thank you Purva! πŸ˜€ ahh me too, but i’ve read that it’s so drying, and I have very dry lips to begin with so i’m so scared. it’s really gorgeous though. i highly recommend taupe, its a great everyday colour!

      Like

Leave a Reply

