New purchases! Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss lipsticks 105 & 107

I love watching videos on YouTube and one of the YouTubers I like to watch is Zoe (Zoella). I was watching one of her older videos recently and it was then that I discovered the beauty that is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte lipstick by Kate Moss in the shade 107. Anyone who’s seen this lipstick on her? It’s ridiculous how absolutely lovely it looks. She’s flawless either which way but it’s as though the shade is made for her. So of course, I was all starry-eyed and decided I wanted this lipstick, irrespective of how it’ll look on me. I mean, I have a completely different skin tone etc etc but I just waved all that aside and put it on my wishlist.

Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss - 105 and 107
Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss – 105 and 107

This lipstick is apparently a cult classic in the UK. HOW I wish I had known when I was there three years ago when I was there for a holiday trip, because Rimmel is so hard to find in India. It’s only available in Parcos I believe and even if you do manage to get to a Parcos that houses cosmetics (in my hunt for this lipstick I’ve come to find that many Parcos stores just stock fragrances) this lipstick is never in stock! This is what you get for being a century late on the bandwagon.

rimmel-107

 

From the title of this post, I’m sure you can guess that this story has a happy ending. I was in Pune for a week and we were just strolling around in Phoenix mall and my mom happened to suggest we check Parcos to see if they had the lipstick in stock. I agreed just for the heck of it, and didn’t expect it in the least but they did have it in stock! I can’t even explain how happy I was, I was grinning from ear to ear. While I was at it, I also picked up another shade from the same range – 105.

Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss - 105 and 107
Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss – 105 and 107

These are matte lipsticks and the finish is great, they go on really smooth and pigmented. They have a bit of a chemically smell but nothing too overpowering. 107 is a deep wine, a really beautiful shade. I’m not really a fan of bright reds for some reason; I tend to like deeper reds, more vampy shades like these.lipstick

Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss - 105 and 107
Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss – 105 and 107

105 is a neutral pink which I thought was a nice subtle everyday shade that I could wear to work. Truth be told, I just picked it up on a whim without testing it properly in the store (delirious from the euphoria of finally getting my hands on this range), and I think it’s washing me out slightly if I wear it on its own. So I may have to layer it with another lipstick or something to make it work.  Untitled-1444

One of the best things about these lipsticks is the price. They’re just for Rs 275 here in India which makes them cheaper than even most Maybelline and Lakme lipsticks.What’s not to love?

All in all, I’m completely sold on these and I’d really love to pick up more.

What’s your current go-to lipstick?

25 thoughts on “New purchases! Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss lipsticks 105 & 107

  1. I must confess to have little success with the Rimmel line. They feather and bleed on my lips, and that’s really not a very attractive outcome 🙂 the 107 does look luscious on you, I agree with the others, rich and lush. Of late, I find myself reaching for the Kylie Matte Lipsticks (the hype is real) and, my longterm faves, Nyx’s entire range of matte lippies.

    Like

  2. Looks like we switched places, I was in Bombay for a week! That Parcos store in Pune (or any of them really) are so frustrating. All the Rimmel counters are so understocked. Even online, Rimmel is so hard to pin down when you’re looking for something specific. My favourite topcoat is from Rimmel and I’m always stalking Nykaa/Amazon to see if it’s in stock.
    I love the wine shade on you, any pink/red with a bit of plum just looks better than any straight up red imo! xx

    Advaita | Blush Canvas

    Like

    1. arent they?!! i dont get why rimmel isnt working in India (assuming its not because of the lack of interest in stocking it), they do some great products! yeess i love plummy reds too x

      Like

  3. Aditi Loved both the shades.BTW a few shades of Kate Moss lipsticks are available on Nykaa.Will definitely pick up one of the shades.

    Like

    1. it’s really worth all the hype. do you like this range? for the 105 i think worst case scenario i’ll probably try to layer it over something darker or maybe use it as a blush.

      Like

  4. You know, I’ve seen these lipsticks at CVS, a drugstore we have here in The States and have never tried them before! I had no idea they’re really that popular! I love both colors, especially 107, it looks SO good on you! Thanks so much for sharing, beauty, and I hope you have a great week ahead!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

