LOVE: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in San Paulo (SMLC 08)

You know those days when you actually wake up with a headache? I mean, the headache is already there. Before you even have a chance to start functioning and get tired of the day or of the people around you (or both!) Sadly, today was one of those days for me but I’ve made myself some nice coffee and I’m determined to not ruin my Sunday!

Before I get into this post I just want to say thank you for all the feedback on my last haul post! In case you were wondering, I’ve decided to return the Forever 21 dress and keep the other three 🙂 Onto today’s post then!

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream - San Paulo SMLC 08. Review, Swatches
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – San Paulo SMLC 08. Review, Swatches

 

 

The NYX soft matte lip creams have been reviewed to death in the beauty blogging universe so I’m not going to bore you with another review. I was in Pune a couple of weeks back and I popped into Sephora (as you do) and walked out with San Paulo. In a nutshell: I quite like the packaging, the scent is lovely and the application is very easy considering the formula of the lip cream. I was surprised that though in swatches and even in the tube, San Paulo looks like a nice medium-toned pink, upon wearing it is quite bright on me, almost neon in fact. But it instantly brightens up my face and doesn’t clash horribly with my skin tone (which can be lean to quite yellow-undertoned at times). I haven’t worn this for a significant amount of time yet, so I can’t really comment on the longevity. It’s initially quite creamy but it dries down to a more matte finish about ten minutes after applying.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream - San Paulo SMLC 08. Review, Swatches
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – San Paulo SMLC 08. Review, Swatches

9

Overall, given that I’m an out-and-out matte lippie lover, I already adore this range but I wish they had more wearable work-wear shades. I think Stockholm, London and even Cannes would probably wash me out and the neutrals pretty much end there.

How has your week been? I went to Bangalore to meet a couple of friends and I had such a blast. You never know how much you need a break until you actually pack your bags and shut off completely, you know? I’m feeling a lot more positive about work and life in general after my holiday. It’s so important to know that you have a support system – people who you can always depend on, no questions asked. This trip reminded me of that and I’ve found new energy to tide me over all the rubbish at work. Let’s see how long it lasts though!

24 thoughts on “LOVE: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in San Paulo (SMLC 08)

  1. Ooh I love the nyx soft matte lip cream! Also my week has been great,I’ve been keeping busy by travelling and visiting people,amazing blog by the way,followed.Please can you check out mine if you ever get the chance?x

    Like

  2. What’s your skin tone shade? I’m an NC41-42 and Stockholm, London and Abu Dhabi do not wash me out. London’s the lightest of the bunch, but it’s my MLBB. stockholm is pinker than Abu Dhabi. You should try the Nyx suedes. It has a creamier and less drying formula than the lip cream.

    Like

    1. i think i’d be roughly the same (i have the hardest time with mac shades haha!) i’ll give Stockholm another go when i’m in Sephora. i really want the nyx liquid suede in soft spoken, it looks goregous!

      Like

  3. Those morning are the worst to start off with, I know exactly how you felt, but you had such a great attitude about it, so I’m sure it only got better as you got through your day! This color looks so pretty on you, definitely a perfect match for your skin tone and your hair looks so beautiful, you are so gorgeous girl! I’m glad you had a great time with friends, sometimes that’s all that’s really needed. I love when I unplug a bit from all things social media and just truly live in the moment; I laugh and feel such a sense of joy, as I’m sure you felt! I hope you have the most amazing week ahead, beauty, and thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on this lippie, I’ll have to keep an eye out the next time I’m at Sephora!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    Like

    1. aww thanks a lot Jalisa! it does feel really great to just disconnect sometimes. your comments always make me smile 😀 hope you had a great week x

      Like

Leave a Reply

