Who needs love when you can have perfume? || My Fragrance Collection 2016

I’ve been meaning to do this post for quite a while but I kept postponing it because I knew it would take forever to do. Well now it’s finally here! I am a huge fragrance person; I can’t step out of the house without a spritz of perfume. I mostly lean towards slightly sweet, floral fragrances as you’ll see, but I occasionally like to switch it up. Let’s get right into the post then. (warning: this one is picture heavy!)

img_3035img_3044

 

Let me just get the minis out of the way and then we can dive into the big ones!

img_3054

img_3049

1. Zara Woman Freesia & Vanilla EDT

My flatmate bought this fragrance and every time she wore it I seemed to fall in love with it a little more! This is a floral fragrance and it’s slightly sweet. I personally like sweet scents and this reminded me a bit of Zara’s Black Peony so I picked up a mini version so I can make up my mind about it. So far, no regrets! Plus Zara perfumes are quite reasonably priced so I may just pick up the regular sized version of this sometime in the future.

img_3051

2. Ricci Ricci by Nina Ricci EDP

My mom picked up some mini perfumes while she was in Hong Kong recently, and she actually picked up Ricci Ricci for herself, and My Burberry for me (which I’ll talk about in a bit). I was sniffing all the perfumes she had bought, and when I opened this one, I accidentally got some on my hand. And for the next half an hour, I couldn’t stop sniffing it. It’s a really sexy scent, for me there’s no other way of describing it. It’s definitely quite mature and heavy as well, so this is one perfume I’d say you can’t really get away with during the day. But it’ll be perfect for a night out!

img_3052

 

Onto the normal-sized versions haha!

img_3060img_3058

3. My Burberry by Burberry EDP

This is the latest addition to my collection – a gift from my parents – and it is already my everyday scent. I can’t put into words just how much I adore this perfume, and it’s strange because normally I quite dislike rose as a fragrance, which happens to be one of the dominant notes in this. This perfume is absolutely exquisite. It’s floral but creamy and not synthetic at all. It’s also one of those perfumes that just smells expensive. Burberry describes this as ‘an English garden after the rain’ and I actually do feel like I’ve just walked into a huge garden right after a heavy shower. Gorgeousness in a bottle. And the packaging itself. Oh my.

img_3034img_3070

 

4. Untold by Elizabeth Arden EDP

Before I switched my loyalties and defected over to the Burberry camp, Untold by Elizabeth Arden was my everyday scent. I can’t really say I love this, which is strange because I’ve worn it so much, as you can tell! This one is also quite floral, with some fruity notes (mainly pear, I believe) and I like that it stays that way for the most part, even after hours of wear. I also like that it lasts all day, which it should because it’s an EDP haha! I can’t say I’m a huge fan of the bottle, it’s quite oddly shaped as you can see but love it or hate it, you can’t ignore it! (I think it’s meant to resemble a pear.)

img_3095

img_3078

5. Zara Black Peony EDT

This Zara fragrance is supposed to be a dupe of the famous Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb. I haven’t tried the Flowerbomb so I can’t attest to that claim, but I can tell you that this perfume is quite lovely. This is the sweetest perfume I own, and though I don’t find it to be sickeningly sweet, I think a lot of people do, so be careful with this one. Personally I love this perfume and it’s got a lot of wear. The only downside of Zara perfumes is that they don’t last too long on you – roughly 3 to 4 hours tops

img_3092img_3066

6. The Body Shop Amazonian Wild Lily EDT

This fragrance from the Body Shop is quite unlike any of the other fragrances I own. And quite unlike any of the fragrances they stock as well, I believe. It’s a very fresh, green scent that reminds me a lot of rain. This isn’t sweet or sexy though, but it’s refreshing and can instantly uplift your mood. I wear this occasionally but since it’s more of a girlish, fun perfume and doesn’t have that slightly mature element to it, it hasn’t made its way into my everyday perfumes.

 

7. Davidoff Cool Water for Women Eau Deodorante

The classic Cool Water, you can’t really go wrong with this. This hasn’t got too much love from me because of the same reasons as the TBS fragrance. It’s very fresh and fun and of course, so recognizable. But it just isn’t my kind of scent. I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it either. As you’d have guessed by now, I have a type when it comes to perfumes and this doesn’t really fit into it.

img_3087img_3090

8. Givenchy Play for Women EDP

Ah, my first ever perfume! My dad bought me this right before I started working in 2014 and I used it throughout the whole year during my internship. This bottle is empty, I just keep it for sentimental value. It’s a very lovely fruity fragrance, with a bit of floral-ness. Very feminine, and very chic. I must say the bottle is quite ridiculous though! I think it’s meant to be a pink phone like thing? It doesn’t look too classy I feel. But you can see the scratches and wear on it – I wore it to absolute death haha! I also have a body lotion that goes with this. I’d probably repurchase this scent, I think it worked very well with my body chemistry.

img_3093

9. Zara Black Amber EDT

Surprise! I didn’t include this perfume in the collective pictures right at the beginning of the post. Do you know why? Coz I completely forgot I had it! This is the one perfume I don’t like in my collection. Some of the others are sitting around because I like them relatively lesser compared to the others,  but this one I outright dislike. There’s nothing wrong with the perfume. It’s just that I realized (after I bought this) that I’m not a fan of amber as a perfume note. This perfume is SO heavy on the amber. And the dry-down just makes it more prominent.

img_3083

 

Okay and we’re all done! Whew, that was a lot of pictures! Hope you enjoyed the post, and don’t forget to tell me what your favourite fragrances are, and if you’re tried any of these!

Hope you all have a lovely week ahead. Cheers x

41 thoughts on “Who needs love when you can have perfume? || My Fragrance Collection 2016

  1. Now you have me wanting to stop by Zara to check out their fragrances, I’ve never even smelt them before. In fact, I didn’t even know they sold fragrances. I must admit, I’m kind of zoned by the time at the register wondering what my total will be, haha. Thanks so much for sharing, I’ll be sure to check them out the next time I’m in store. Oh, and how cute is the Givenchy packaging, I love it! I hope you have the most amazing week ahead, beauty!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    Like

  2. This is a great list! I’m just starting to love fragrance. My favorites so far are Nest Indigo, Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue and Annick Goutal Rose. I’m still searching for that one rose perfume. I want to buy Tocca Isabel next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

