The MAC Matchmaster Foundation just attained Holy Grail Status

I’m not much of a heavy duty makeup wearer every day, but I do like something to even out my skin tone at the very least. I find that Lisa Eldridge was quite right when she said that if you make the base perfect, you don’t really need too much makeup after that, and that’s exactly what I like to do for a natural every day look.

I had mentioned in an earlier post that my Bourjois CC Cream is lovely and does a great job, but I was a bit bored and wanted to experiment. I did some research and found that the MAC Face & Body foundation gives quite sheer and skin-like coverage so I thought I’ll give it a go. So the other day, I walked into my nearest MAC store and asked for the MAC Face & Body. Turns out that it wasn’t in stock but I had resolved to go back home with a MAC foundation (stubborn Aries characteristics peeking through!) so when the SA suggested Matchmaster instead, I thought I’ll test it out.

MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India

Now this was a bit of a gamble for me because I always like to do my research before buying makeup, especially stuff that’s expensive. I hadn’t read too many reviews of Matchmaster but ended up buying it anyway. For reference, I have combination to oily skin. My nose can be an oil factory while I sometimes have dry patches around my mouth.

I was matched to shade 2.0. The great part about Matchmaster is that it does away with the whole NC/NW confusion. 2.0 is the third lightest shade in the range, and it’s a tad light for me, but 3.0 was too dark. Plus, the USP of this foundation is supposed to be a shade-adjusting technology that adapts to your skintone (hence the name Matchmaster I guess), and 2.0 definitely does that for me.

It’s essentially a liquid foundation but has a slightly thicker consistency than say water-based foundations. It blends absolutely beautifully into the skin, provided you’ve moisturized well prior to applying it, otherwise it will cake up. You can build up the coverage, but one light layer tones down the appearance of dark circles and blemishes, and is perfect for everyday and that’s exactly the reason I bought it.

It is priced at Rs 3000 for 35 ml, so it is by no means a cheap foundation, but I use maybe 3/4ths of a pump for my face and neck so I’m sure it’ll last me a long time. As for lasting power on the face, I find that it’s still very much there when I remove my makeup at the end of the day. So on me, I’d say it stays on for about 10 hours easily, without powder. You will of course, find that it wears off from some parts of your face, more so from the oilier areas. It doesn’t slip around and though some bloggers say it transfers onto clothes, I haven’t had that problem aside from the first half an hour of applying it, after which it sets. Perhaps that’s because I don’t use too much. It doesn’t oxidize through the day, either.

Though I apply it with my fingers, the SA said the best way to apply this was with a brush. In the store, she applied it with a sponge and perhaps that made it look the most natural but I find that fingers work well too. It has SPF 15 so you do get a tiny bit of flashback in photos. When you first pump some out of the bottle, the smell is really strong and can be off-putting. But it disappears once you apply it, so don’t let the synthetic scent deter you from buying this!

I’ve been wearing the Matchmaster for over a month now and I am absolutely delighted that I took a leap of faith with this because I think it’s probably one of the best foundations in the market at the moment.

Pictures and Swatches below!

MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India

 

MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India

 

MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India
MAC Matchmaster Foundation Shade 2.0: Review, Swatches, Price in India

 

(it looks quite yellow in the blended pic but it settles down like I mentioned earlier)

Have you tried the MAC Matchmaster Foundation? What did you think? What foundation do you love at the moment?

Hope you all are having a great day! x

21 thoughts on “The MAC Matchmaster Foundation just attained Holy Grail Status

  1. Wow, darling, you’ve really tempted to me to go ahead and try this foundation! I’ve heard such amazing things about it, and I’m so glad it’s worked out for you. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this lovely & informative review! x

    Kay
    http://shoesandglitter.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

