Nykaa So Matte! Lipstick in Naughty Nude: Review & Swatches

The Indian beauty blog universe was abuzz with the new Nykaa So Matte! lipsticks so of course I had to pick one up to see for myself what the hype was about. These lipsticks come in 12 different shades, most of which are pinks. From the initial swatches I really liked the look of the shades Wicked Wine and Mischievous Plum since I really like dark lipsticks. However Wicked Wine looks pretty close to the Rimmel 107 which I already own, and though Mischievous Plum is gorgeous, I really didn’t think I’d get much wear out of it. So I settled for Naughty Nude which is a peachy-brown shade.

Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches

I know everyone’s talked about the packaging but I’d like to get my two cents in and say that I too really appreciate the magnetic closure of the lipstick case. The case itself is a matte black, and as we’ll soon see, this is the only part of the lipstick that is truly matte 😛

The lipstick glides on really smoothly and is very pigmented. The shade isn’t exactly nude on me but it’s quite peachy-brown. If there are any pink tones in this lipstick, I can tell you with certainty that they don’t show up on me. In fact it looks quite orange-y from some angles. The bullet has a sharp tip so you can really do the corners of your lips and cupid’s bow with great precision. Now the finish isn’t exactly matte – you can see it has a bit of a sheen – but you can’t call it outright glossy or creamy either. The colour payoff is really good and this does leave behind a stain, which is great if you want to blot it or wear it for long hours.

The lipstick has a vanilla scent which is pretty much exactly the same as MAC lipsticks smell. That was what made me compare Naughty Nude with MAC Twig, and as you can see, the two are pretty darn similar. Twig is slightly pinker and lighter, while Naughty Nude has more peachy-brown tones.

Though I wasn’t overwhelmed by this lipstick, I don’t really think you can ask for more from a lipstick as such (except for maybe better names?). These lipsticks are priced really affordably at Rs 399 so if you want to get one for the heck of it, you can’t really go wrong, and if nothing else there is definitely a pink for everyone in the range.

Have you tried the Nykaa So Matte! Lipsticks? What did you think?

Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
img_3245
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
img_3254
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
img_3251
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
img_3256
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches
swatch
Nykaa So Matte Lipstick – Naughty Nude: Review, Swatches. Left: straight from the bullet. Right: Blotted
30 thoughts on “Nykaa So Matte! Lipstick in Naughty Nude: Review & Swatches

  1. What a gorgeous lipstick! I´m very much a fan of matte lipsticks but find they can sometimes be a bit too drying on my lips. I also think this mix of almost creamy/almost matte is very pretty.
    xx Lisa | Following Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

