Everyday Makeup Routine

If you’re reading this post it’s probably because I’ve left a comment on your blog reminding you of my existence. Now that you’re here and I’ve got your attention: Hello! How have you been doing? How is 2017 treating you so far? It’s been an emotional rollercoaster for me already (hint hint: boy trouble), but more on that in a subsequent post. For now, let me quickly take you through what I’ve been slapping on my face every morning.

img_3960

One of the main reasons I’ve not been blogging as much as I used to is that, as far as makeup is concerned, I’ve hit a comfort zone with the products I use. I’ve found colours that suit me and products that work, and the part of me that used to want to experiment has sort of taken a back seat over the past couple of months. Nevertheless, as you can probably tell from the pictures in this post, there are a few products here that you wouldn’t have seen earlier on my blog, and I’d like to tell you why I like using these or how they came about into my life. So let’s get into this!

In chronological order, first up we have a moisturizer from The Body Shop. This is the Vitamin C Glow Boosting Moisturizer. I was first introduced to this through a cheeky sample that the SA threw in while I was picking up my usual shampoo from TBS (I use the Rainforest Balance range). The fragrance is very citrus-y and fresh, but what really drew me in was the consistency. It’s super light-weight and gets absorbed into the skin very quickly. I don’t notice any extra radiance to be honest, but as a moisturizer it does its job.

img_3975

Next up we have sunscreen. I religiously use sunscreen every day because I use retinols at night for my acne, so my skin is extra sensitive. The Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sun Block is an old favourite. It’s quite mattifying though so I feel it negates the effects of the TBS moisturiser. I love the two products individually but on my skin perhaps they aren’t the best to use together because sometimes when my skin is drier than usual, my foundation tends to cake up a bit. I may switch to a more hydrating sunscreen or a more hydrating moisturizer while my skin adjusts to the changing weather.

img_3977

Coming to my base, it’s my trusted MAC Matchmaster foundation. I recently bought the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation and I’m not sure if I bought the wrong shade, but that one just does nothing for my skin in terms of glow. It does even out my skin tone but aside from that I found it quite blah. Maybe this is just me, maybe I’m using it wrong? But my point is that it does pale in comparison to the Matchmaster. I use this sparingly just to even out my complexion and cover up my under-eye circles slightly. I recently got the Real Techniques Core Collection set and I use my Buffing Brush with this – it’s a match made in heaven.

img_3970

Once my base is done, I go straight to brows. I recently bought the NYX Micro Brow pencil after reading rave reviews online and while I really like the product itself, I feel the shade I got – Brunette – is a tad warm for brows. It works well for me at the moment though so no complaints. I follow up with the Essence Make me Brow gel which I got as a replacement for the Benefit Gimme Brow. Now that I’ve used both, I can safely say that they are not dupes in my opinion. The Gimme Brow is a gazillion times better, there is no comparison. End of story.

img_3972

Onto eyes and my favourite eyeliner is from Maybelline – it’s called their Colossal Eye Liner and it’s a felt tip pen that’s super easy to use. I’ve gone through 3 of these and I need to repurchase soon coz this one is drying up. I love it; it gets the job done every single time. Plus it’s super affordable.

img_3969

For mascara I recently picked up the Lash Sensational from Maybelline. This is the first time I’m using this mascara and I do get the hype around it (apparently it’s a dupe for the Benefit Roller Lash?). It’s really easy to use and I find that even the non-waterproof version, which is what I use, holds a curl really well. I’ve been using this for about a week and so far I’m impressed. I do love experimenting with mascara so I can’t say I’d repurchase this, but for now I like the results.

img_3979

For blush, I’ve been popping a bit of MAC’s Blushbaby on my cheeks every day. I wanted to get my hands on Tarte’s Exposed pretty badly but we don’t get Tarte here in India so I thought Blushbaby was the next best thing. I love this shade so much, it’s very flattering and MAC blushes apply so beautifully. Sigh. I apply this with the Real Techniques Contour Brush and I find it works quite well. I don’t think this blush lasts throughout the day for me though, I wish it did.

We’re almost there! For lips I am all about the mauve-y pink colours. In fact, I think I should probably do a post on all the lip colours I have in this colour family which is a LOT. I’ve been wearing MAC’s Soar lip liner on its own just to add a bit of colour. On me, it’s a lot pinker than it is nude and I find that suits my skin tone quite a bit and also pairs beautifully with Blushbaby which is in a similar colour family. I wish I didn’t have to keep sharpening this though. It kills me every time I see product on the sharpener, argh.

img_3967

And that’s a wrap! Don’t forget to leave me a comment on whether you’ve tried any of these products (and if so, what did you think?) or if you’d like to. Have a great weekend! xo

19 thoughts on “Everyday Makeup Routine

  1. Missed your posts for a long time. Loved reading your current routine. I too feel the Neutrogena sunscreen is too matte and cakes up makeup. Looking forward to more posts 🙂

    Like

  2. I love seeing Everyday Makeup Routine posts because it highlights what people usually (and actually) use in their beauty stash. Also, I totally agree with you in terms of knowing which products suit us and sticking to those- like how I think the blush shade would really suit you. Looking forward to the next post 🙂

    ~Weng wengiful 


    Like

  3. So happy to see another post from you! Soar is a lot more pink on me as well, definitely not a regular nude but I enjoy using it anyway. That Neutrogena sunscreen is perfection! Even in a humid climate I don’t mind wearing an extra layer.

    Advaita | Blush Canvas

    Like

  4. Loved reading your makeup routine. I’ve used only the Maybelline Colossal Liner out of all these and yeah its super easy to use like you said.

    Like

  5. Your pictures are crisp! Loved them. 👌🏻👌🏻
    Will the vitamin c moisturiser go well with my combination-oily skin??? I think I might give it a try. 👍🏻👍🏻
    Nice post btw. I love MAC foundation. And on lazy days I just dust on studio fix compact. 🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

